It was an epic feature race that saw the third round of the Ultimate Sprintcar Championship first place be awarded to Garry Brazier who took the chequered flag in scintillating fashion. Brazier beat home second placed Sam Walsh who is going forward in leaps and bounds and Matt Smith who was equally as impressive.

Garry Brazier, who recorded his 29th main event win of his career at Valvoline Raceway, and his first win since 2012, took the lead early in what was a hectic start to the race when Matt Craft unfortunately rolled on the opening lap, ending what was an impressive night. Leading for the first ten laps, Brazier was caught in heavy lapped traffic, giving Matt Smith the opportunity to race on by.

Brazier then repeated the move back on Smith to resume the lead and took the final eleven laps in his stride to take a popular win.

There were some other impressive drives throughout the field. James Thompson rallied for an eleventh place finish after damaging his front wing in the opening lap melee. Ben Atkinson improved nine spots to finish twelfth and Queenslander Luke Oldfield, having his first ever run at Valvoline Raceway, came from position twenty-three to record a tenth place finish.

The complete run down was Garry Brazier, Sam Walsh, Matt Smith, Toby Bellbowen, Max Dumesny, Grant Anderson, Danny Reidy, Warren Ferguson, Darryl Campbell, Luke Oldfield, James Thompson, Ben Atkinson, Jackson Delamont, Alex Orr, Kelly Linigen, Adrian Maher, Michael Saller, Matt Dumesny, Sean Dyson, Grant Tunks, Chad Ely, Kyle Caunt and Steve Caunt was the final classified finisher. The only non-finisher was Matt Craft.

Earlier in the night, Toby Bellbowen stopped the clocks the quickest in group one qualifying whilst Matt Smith was quickest in group two.

Heat race wins went to Kelly Linigen, Sean Dyson, Grant Tunks and Jackson Delamont.

The C-Main went to Jeremy Cross and Garry Brazier won the B-Main. The Pole Shuffle was not held due to the inclement weather.


Image: Jigsaw Photography